20140403-103817.jpg

I think one of the main impetus for my arts practice is making the maximum impact with a minimum of means and this project Heavy Water definitely illustrates this point. Since 2011, pretty much all of my paper, Antarctica themed installation projects have been large scale artworks – up to 12m x 4m x 2m but can all be packed down into a regular suitcase. Heavy water scales this down further. The gallery is over 10m2 with a 4m high ceiling and Heavy Water will be a large scaled artwork but with much more discrete and linear construction. Currently the components for this new work fit into a large shoe box. But like a box of lego, [who I blame for my component art making!] Heavy Water will expand and activate the space in new ways.

To update the status of the project – I have finished hand cutting over 3000 lacquered tissue paper triangles. This is very exciting and also satisfying. However, the next stage is to fold ALL the tabs. Thank goodness for podcasts to keep me company with this task.

Next week I will begin the community stage of the project where I will be working with Niwa Oceanographer Dr Craig Stevens a couple of classes from Plateau School in Upper Hutt to start assembling sections of the artwork and to talk about Antarctica, art and brine tubes with the kids. I am anticipating some interesting and hopefully curly questions and discussions from the kids amongst the stapling and paper wrangling.

This leads to these next few images. I am preparing the kit that will accompany me to the workshop and gathering and stock-taking all the necessary bits and pieces…

20140403-103548.jpg

20140403-103607.jpg

<a

