As it would appear, this year is continuing to be super busy. Along with preparing for THE BIG SHOW in June at Pataka Museum+Art which includes lots of painting; photographic testing, image selection and file preparation; arranging and decision making about framing and hanging of the works; spatial considerations and organising and preparing for workshops in schools. I know there I am missing something here though.

I just made myself laugh as that is exactly what being busy does to me – makes me forget everything that I have done recently as I am focusing on what needs to be done next. Two weeks ago a project instigated by the Porirua Chamber of Commerce  and supported by Pataka Museum+Art launched in Porirua called “Shopfrontin” launched. There is some documentation on my studioantarctica Instagram account. And here is some writing by Mark Amery about a couple of the projects exploring identity [not mine] . To give some background, the Shopfrontin’ project extends from the Teza project run by the Urban Dream Brokerage utilising vacant shops in the centre of Porirua. It seems that most of the shopping now occurs in the adjacent shopping mall leaving dozens of shops at the heart of the city now vacant. As a way of revitalising the city centre, a group of artists were invited to create site specific work to energise the dormant spaces. I created a work out of available parts of about 6 previous ice/Antarctic related works in a site that marks the edge of of a historical shore line. In a way, the work I created ICE CYCLE looks at the life cycle [if you can call it that] of ice while considering what may happen if sea levels rise again. Water freezes, evaporates, melts/cracks and refreezes, moving from one state to another, constantly recycling itself and transforming. So, there were parts of What lies beneath, What Lies Beneath- the return, Cleave and Some time as well as Inland Ice and Heavy Water. It was nice to reflect on this body of work and see how the physical pieces as well as ideas could interconnect despite being made using different systems, scales and times.

This week has seen me preparing and delivering talks in Dunedin as a guest of Otago University. On Monday I presented a talk to the Physics Department at Otago University. It was a full house which means 30-something people and I got to talk about what happens when an artist participates in scientific research. On Tuesday I reframed the talk slightly as it was presented at the Dunedin School of Art. In between there have been many conversations about how art sci collaborations are often one sided – i.e. the artist interpreting the research of the scientist while the scientist is part of a wonderful conversation with a cool outcome, and how my experience in Antarctica kind of turned that on its head, acting as an experiment within an experiment to see if art, could in turn influence science.

In fact, I had so many interesting conversations with artists, scientists, science communicators, lecturers, academics, curators, geographers and other creatives that my head is still spinning slightly and my ability to string a sentence together and spell is now questionable.

It is all good though, and was really helpful to talk about my practice and experiences in a new context and it helped me to make some connections between ideas that I hadn’t considered until now.

Oh and in other news, I am going to Antarctica again to continue my research on Sea Ice platelets and assist Dr Natalie Robinson’s research.

[imagine the sound of me squealing with joy!]

